Say Hello to the 2018 Whiting Honorees


Whiting Awards 2018

For the fourth consecutive year, The Paris Review Daily is pleased to announce the ten winners of the annual Whiting Awards. Without further ado—they are:

We’re proud to have selected writing from all the Whiting honorees, too. Click each name above to read on—you’ll discover work by some of the best writers of their generation, astonishing in its breadth and depth.

If you’re wondering what all this “Whiting” is: Founded in 1985, the Whiting Awards, of fifty thousand dollars each, are based on “early accomplishment and the promise of great work to come.” The program has awarded more than six million dollars to some 320 writers and poets, including Colson Whitehead, Suzan-Lori Parks, Alice McDermott, Akhil Sharma, David Foster Wallace, August Wilson, Tracy K. Smith, Tarell Alvin McCraney, Jeffrey Eugenides, and The Paris Review’s own Mona Simpson and John Jeremiah Sullivan. Click here for a list of all the previous honorees.

Congratulations to this year’s honorees! For more great writing from past recipients, check out our collections from 20152016, and 2017 winners.