Writing from the Winners of the 2015 Whiting Awards



whitingCongratulations to the ten winners of this year’s Whiting Awards:

The Daily is delighted to have selections from work by all the 2015 honorees. Click each name above to read on and learn more about them.

The Whiting Awards are celebrating their thirtieth anniversary this year. They’re based on “early accomplishment and the promise of great work to come.” Since 1985, the program has awarded more than six million dollars to three hundred writers and poets, including Jonathan Franzen, Alice McDermott, David Foster Wallace, Jeffrey Eugenides, and The Paris Review’s own Mona Simpson and John Jeremiah Sullivan.

We offer a heartfelt chapeau! to this year’s group of honorees. If you want to hear more, they’ll be reading tomorrow night at BookCourt.

Dan Piepenbring is the web editor of The Paris Review.